MAGPIE

"A stunning read, incredibly well executed, dark and brooding! All things I love in a novel. Flawed characters, a bleak setting and just about the right level of tension makes this book a belter!"

"A compelling, heart-rending story."

"Magpie had me on the hook from the beginning with it's eerie premise! Addictive... unforeseen twists and turns... I know I'm reading a well written mystery/thriller when the hairs on the back of my neck stand up!"

"I loved the atmosphere... a great mystery novel. I felt that it had something different that made it special."

"Just when I thought I had a handle on the story, a plot twist I didn't see coming threw me for a loop, and just when the dust settled, another one came and wow! I thoroughly enjoyed Magpie!"

A tense chilling read... so well written, so dark, so gloomy, perfect atmosphere. Characters that come alive. An author I will be following. Highly recommended.

Early NetGalley reviews, August 2019.

        DUE OUT ON

   28th NOVEMBER 2019


One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a secret...

Claire lives with her family in a beautiful glass house overlooking the water. But it feels as if she's married to a stranger - one who is leading a double life. As soon as she can get their son Joe away from him, she's determined to leave Duncan.

Discovering the truth about Duncan, however, has led to consequences Claire never planned for. Now Joe is missing, and she's struggling to piece together the events of the night that tore them all apart.

Alone in an isolated cottage, hiding from Duncan, Claire tries to unravel the lies they've told each other, and themselves. Something happened to her family... But can she face the truth?

A dark psychological thriller with a twist - perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and C. J. Tudor.

Magpie is available to pre-order now on Amazon and at all good bookshops. 


The Magpie Book Launch Party is booked for Tues 26th Nov at Waterstones in Derby, 6 - 7.30pm. There will be an author talk, Q&A, wine and nibbles and a book signing. We'd love to see anyone who would like to come along. The book officially goes on sale in the UK two days later, on 28th Nov, but copies will be available to buy (and be signed!) at the party. 

Tickets are free but must be pre-booked. Please email info@sophiedraper.co.uk to book. Hope to see you there!